Adaptive Trust-based e-assessment System for Learning

Adaptive Trust-based e-assessment System for Learning

The European Commission has approved the TeSLA project (Adaptive Trust-based e-assessment System for Learning) to define and develop an e-assessment system to authenticate students and identify the authorship for learning activities on both, partially or wholly online learning environments.

The coordinating institution of TeSLA project is the Open University of Catalunya which, as an online university born in 1994 with its own virtual learning environment, has proven experience of online teaching and learning processes. The TeSLA consortium is made up of 18 organizations that are experts in different knowledge and research areas/with a recognised expertise across Europe. The project is funded under the EU Horizon 2020 programme with a budget of 7 million euros in three years, starting in January 2016.

The aim of TeSLA is to improve the online assessment process by introducing tools and resources in learning activities that gather data that enable students to be authenticated and identified. By means of this innovative online assessment system, TeSLA opens up new opportunities for educational institutions. The universities involved in the project will undertake a series of large-scale pilot tests with over 14,000 students from all over Europe, respecting social and cultural differences, guaranteeing equal opportunities and providing an inclusive solution.

The project will offer a free standard version of the online assessment system for educational institutions and a professional commercial version for distribution on the international market.

Project objective

“With TeSLA we want to provide educational institutions and businesses with a system that supports any assessment model that covers teaching and learning processes, but also the related ethical, legal and technological aspects,” said Ana Elena Guerrero, project coordinator and member of the Technology-Enhanced Knowledge and Interaction Group (TEKING) at the UOC’s eLearn Center.

The consortium

The consortium is made up of 18 partners with a total of around sixty professionals from the following organizations:


– Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (UOC) – Spain.
– University of Namur ASBL (UNamur) – Belgium.
– Open Universiteit of the Netherlands (OUNL) – Netherlands.
– Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski (SU) – Bulgaria.
– Open University (OU) – United Kingdom.
– Imperial College London (Imperial) – United Kingdom.
– Technical University of Sofia (TUS) – Bulgaria.
– Anadolu University (AU) – Turkey.
– University of Jyvaskyla (JYU) – Finland.
– Institut Mines-Telecom (IMT) – France.

Quality Agencies:

– European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education AISBL (ENQA) – Belgium.
– Catalan University Quality Assurance Agency (AQU Catalunya) – Spain.
– European Quality Assurance Network for Informatics Education (EQANIE) – Germany.

Research centres:

– National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics and Electronics (INAOE) – Mexico.
– IDIAP Research Institute Foundation (IDIAP) – Switzerland.

Technology firms:

– LPLUS GmbH – Germany.
– Protos Sistemas de Información S.L. (protOS) – Spain.
– WFSW SA (Watchful) – Portugal.

More information

Secretary General Dr. Martin Foerster
(+49) 211 900977-22

Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
Anna Elena Guerrero
Member of the TEKING research group and project coordinator
(+34) 933 263 723


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.